OPTA Excellence Awards 2020


OPTA Celebrates Excellence in Public Transit!

OPTA’s Excellence Awards 2020 will honor individuals and organizations who have exemplified leadership and advocacy for public transit in Ohio. Transit employees, board members and community stakeholders who, by their commitment, work, actions and passion, deserve to be celebrated.   Nominations were submitted by members of OPTA and the 63 transit systems in the state of Ohio.

Awards will be presented in each transit community.  Award presentations will be shared with OPTA Members through our website and social media. 


Thank you to our OPTA Excellence Awards Committee!


Julia Schick, Laketran | Committee Chair


Ben Capelle, Laketran | Katherine Conrad, Ohio Transit Risk Pool

Laura Koprowski, Toledo Area RTA | Blair Taseff, TESCO | Carrie Woody, Lancaster-Fairfield RTA


OPTA Lifetime Achievement

Awarded for noteworthy accomplishments in the field of public transit. 

Jim Ryan, GILLIG, Regional Sales Director

Curtis Stitt, OPTA Executive Director, Retired (view video)

OPTA Leonard Ronis Award

Awarded for noteworthy accomplishments in the field of public transit.

Carrie Woody, Director, Lancaster-Fairfield Public Transit System (view video)


Awarded to transit professionals and stakeholders under the age of forty to celebrate the future of transit in Ohio and their achievements in transit and leadership within their specific communities.

Scott Lammers, Hancock Area Transportation Service, Director of Transportation (view video)

Matt Dutkevicz, Butler County Regional Transit Authority, Executive Director (view video)

Jeff Mundstock, Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority, Director, Fleet and Facilities (view video)

Valerie Shea, METRO Regional Transit Authority, Director of Strategic Planning & Development (view video)

OPTA Community Impact Awards

Awarded to any transit employee who has had a significant impact within their community. 

Antonio McClendon, Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority, Operator (view video)

Lydia Carroll, Southeast Area Transit District, Transit Center Supervisor (view video)

Sandra Guess, METRO Regional Transit Authority, Operator (view video)

Amanda Jones, METRO Regional Transit Authority, Operator (view video)

TAC Industries

OPTA Associate Engagement

Award recognizes the contribution of Associate Business Members through overall engagement, membership, participation within OPTA and contributions advancing public transit.

Ohio Transit Risk Pool, Barbara Rhoades (view video)


Awarded to individuals or transit agencies reaching significant milestones in the transit industry.

Thirty Years of Service

Reginald Brown, Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority, Transit Operator (view video)

Steven Rolfes, Southwest Ohio Regional Transit Authority, Transit Operator (view video)

Cheryl Brady, Laketran, Transit Operator (view video)

Jodi Zilke, Laketran, Lead Dispatcher (view video)

Fifty Years of Service

METRO Regional Transit Authority

50 Years on the Road, 100 Years of Experience (view video)